Kayaking under the stars

A few months ago, I made a decision to become more adventurous.

I told myself I was going to:

  • kayak to tiny islands and have epic adventures,
  • meet lots of adventurous people along the way
  • and kayak under the stars someday.

Just recently, I made that kayaking trip happen, from one island to another with a bunch of awesome adventurers like me!

It took us 1.15 hours to paddle to the island, and when night fell, we hopped back onto our kayaks and paddled under the most clearest night sky, with the calm sea before us and the brilliant bright stars twinkling above us.

We sang, we laughed, we made jokes as we paddled alongside each other. 

That night says it all. Some of the people I may never meet again, others I might still.

But I’m so glad I decided on a whim to sign up to that kayaking trip. If I hadn’t, I would never have known how resilient I could be, taking my kayak out most weekends to practice, even when it rained (I just wore a wetsuit).

It took me almost 2 months to get myself ready for it. Before, my weekends were literally so boring, now I actually practice a hobby.

Whenever I drive past the ocean to get to work, all I think is, “Wow, that’s an amazing view, I would love to kayak on that ocean. So bring on more adventures in a kayak.”

Leave a Reply

